RSS

Hello world!

16 Jul

Okay, so I have decided to join the world of social blogging.  I am not sure if anyone will read my blogs (or even if I will blog more than once in a blue moon), but I have taken the first step and created a blogspot :-).  So today is the first blue moon!!

A little bit about me for those of you who don’t know me…and for those who think they do….

Actually you DO know me! If you ever attended a maths class in high school you will remember me as the girl sitting in the second row in class with the glasses who always did all her maths homework and got steady As for all tests and exams.  Every school has one.  (In fact I can see a few ex-classmates who befriended me on facebook having an aha moment).  For those who never attended maths “Hi, I am Gerda. Just call me Gertie”.

Anyway, after school I studied to become a Chartered Accountant and joined an audit firm and today I have a highly responsible position in a listed entity (la-di-da, I know).  But (like they say in the Verimark adds), that’s not all….

In my real life, I am also a single mom with two daughters, a teenager and a pre-teen.  And I am a juggler.  I have the act of balancing several balls in the air, at the same time, down to a tee…(or so I like to tell myself as I am constantly running between meetings, kids and social obligations like a modern day Speedy Gonzales).

So, the question is why a blog (and when???).

  1. I am a babbling brook (courtesy of The Five Languages of Love) and I have to tell people about my life.  And somehow my friends get tired of my minute-by-minute updates
  2. For a person of an above-average intellectual ability (independently verified), I can do really stupid things
  3. I like to think I am not a typical accountant.  I need an outlet for my creative side (and creative accounting is such a no-no nowadays!).  And I can’t paint or sew to save my life.  And cooking has some fattening side effects…
  4. As to the ‘when’, you will just have to wait for the blue moons (or blue Mondays)

So here goes!

To happy blogging! (would have liked to have had a toast to that, but it is Monday morning)

 
9 Comments

Posted by on July 16, 2012 in About me

 

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “Hello world!

  1. Zaheerah

    July 16, 2012 at 12:13 pm

    love it.. looking forward to reading every once in a blue moon(or blue monday)

     
  2. Retha

    July 16, 2012 at 12:16 pm

    Jolly cool / brave move to make life count! RR
    Ps Have you seen School of life? Makes me think of the movie for some reason…

     
  3. Nandz

    July 16, 2012 at 12:33 pm

    Loving the first “blue moon” already. 🙂

    NAAH! If your dance moves are anything to go by, you are NOT a typical accountant AT ALL!

     
  4. Jack

    July 16, 2012 at 1:15 pm

    Nice one Gertz!!

     
  5. Fadz

    July 16, 2012 at 2:00 pm

    Wow! Just hoping for more blue moons to shorten the time I’ll have to wait for the next one. Brave but good move Gertz! Waiting for more.

     
  6. Amina

    July 16, 2012 at 7:02 pm

    Very nice Gerda ……..looking forward to exciting blogs my frend.

     
  7. lisa@notesfromafrica

    October 25, 2012 at 7:37 am

    I also started blogging with the thoughts of “whatever am I going to write about?” and “who on earth is going to want to read it?”. Several years later and I’m still blogging. It’s a great creative outlet, and I’ve really enjoyed being part of the WordPress community.

    Keep on blogging! 🙂

     
    • Justcallmegertie

      October 25, 2012 at 7:50 am

      Thank Lisa! It has only been a few months now, but I am loving the blogging. My mind is full of stories and I cannot wait to tell them all :). And it appears people enjoy reading my ramblings!
      Thanks for following my blog

       
  8. Erica Dudine

    October 26, 2012 at 7:05 am

    Hi Gerda, I love it! ..and looking forward to MANY blue moons!! ❤

     

Leave a comment...

 
