RSS

Holiday blues (or whites)

25 Aug

It’s the weekend, baby! And it’s a long weekend for me on top of it. And despite crashing my car into a security vehicle in our Estate yesterday…(erm, I looked down for 2 seconds to find the charger cable for the iPad…), with a short detour via the Midrand police station, we are all checked in at our home for the weekend, a 2 bedroom self catering unit in a lovely holiday resort.

The fridge is stocked with food, more food, and wine… The birds are chirping. I successfully managed to teach the girls how to play Rummy last night (it is successful if they manage to beat you on a run…). There is an entertainment programme which even includes sand art and a dance off this afternoon for the teens. And the weather has done a bit of a turnaround and played with the 30 degrees mark yesterday! (at the risk of getting a clap…did you know it snowed in Joburg last week?)

So why am I sitting in my bed and writing a blog? I should be out there, getting ready to hit the pool. Haul out the cozzie, the fresh smell of suntan lotion, cocktails in the sun….
Well that’s it…I was ‘blessed’ with a what they call a fair skin. Very fair. Super white.

When I was young and didn’t care about freckles or whether I am giving the sun arc eyes, I thought the standard deal with going out into the sun was getting sunburnt, nursing blisters and the peeling that goes with it a few days later. The vinegar baths, the lightweight clothing and the grinding on your teeth was all worth it for spending a day in the sun, and having a ball.

Then I got a bit older (and slightly wiser) and realised that not everyone burns like that. It was in the good old 80s and brown fat looked better than white fat. So I tried to get brown. Believe me I tried almost everything. The gradual tan….10 days of increasing sun exposure and lots of patience. And low and behold, after 10 days I had a brown, heathly tint to my skin. It worked, and I was running around in shorts everywhere showing off my legs. I was about to replace all my long pants when a week later the brown tint was gone. Literally gone. What the heck? All that trouble for a week of joy?

I also tried self tanning lotion. But since yellow is not my colour, I only tried that once. And later in years when the body lotion came out with gradual colouring with regular use, I also tried that. It worked, except that my fair skin has spots where the melanin congregates and is prone to freckles. So as with the sun, all these creams and stuff activate the colouring in those spots much quicker than the rest so instead of a smooth tan, I end up looking like the lesser spotted freak.

And then of course there is the risk of skin cancer. I once read that having had more than 2 episodes of blistering sunburns in childhood, doubles your risk of skin cancer. Oh boy, am I in trouble. Never mind blisters, try scabs from burning on top of blistering skin…

So…in the end I have resolved to ‘live with it’. I am seeing the advantages as I get older (finally!!) as I seem to have more youthful skin, less wrinkles. (That’s my story and i will stick to it!) And I wear skirts with sexy stockings, but you will seldom see me in shorts. Or cozzies…until of course, I am on holiday….

So, I am forced to substitute my trusted pair of jeans, or my powerful suits with a pair of shorts and a swimming costume today and all of the sudden I have a song stuck in my head…

She was afraid to come out of the locker
She was as nervous as she could be
She was afraid to come out of the locker
She was afraid that somebody would see
One, two, three, four, tell the people what she wore

Oh well, what the heck…maybe this time I can pull it off with grace. What are you looking at? Does the trick for stage fright, ie imagining everyone naked, work in this situation? Can’t do harm in trying, methinks 😉

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 25, 2012 in About me, Stupidity

 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “Holiday blues (or whites)

  1. Jeanette

    August 25, 2012 at 9:07 am

    LOL have fun 🙂 I don’t do bikinis anymore, but a full cozzie and I’m a-for-away!
    I’m so pale that I reflect the sun, haven’t had a proper tan since I was a child, and like you tried the self tanning things, but I’ve given up on that now too

     
  2. jcmgertie

    August 25, 2012 at 9:11 am

    Yup! The boys told me at school that I give the sun arc eyes… 🙂

     
  3. Surita

    August 25, 2012 at 9:22 am

    Hahahaha. Ive seen you in a short many times. Actually not that bad. Go out and enjoy the sun. Do it for us who got up with rain falling outside!

     
  4. Madoqua

    June 2, 2013 at 12:01 am

    Keeping out of the sun is not a bad thing. Your skin will thank you mightily by staying fresh and youthful a lot longer through your life. Cover up during the day and bring out the cozzie when the sun goes over the yardarm!

     
    • Justcallmegertie

      June 2, 2013 at 7:03 am

      Aah, I have given up on the sun many years ago, but in a sun-seeking country like south Africa it is hard to stay out of the sun too long..:-). I saw an interview once with someone famous (can’t remember now, I think it was Elizabeth Taylor) and they asked what her favourite face cream was and her answer was sunscreen!

       
      • Madoqua

        June 2, 2013 at 1:54 pm

        That is hilarious!
        In Australia we have the highest incidence of skin cancer in the world. Having a big hole in the ozone layer right above us is a big part of the problem.
        But we are now so good at covering up from the sun, we have a problem with Vitamin D deficiency! But personally, I’d rather that than cancer!!!

         

Leave a comment...

 
