RSS

Here, have a glass of wine…

03 Sep

You must have seen the email going around with the ‘Hormone guide’. There are different scenario’s and suggested phrases for men to use to cope with the female hormonal fluctuations…from dangerous to ultra safe. For example, it would be dangerous to ask “What’s for dinner?”; safer to say “Can I help you with dinner?”; safest to say “Would you like to go out for dinner?” and the ultra safe option, time and again, is “Here, have a glass of wine”…:). I think I need have this printed on a pin up….

So, okay…I am a sucker for a good glass of wine. There is nothing quite like having a glass of vino while throwing together a quick dinner in the evening to relax me. Ideally I would like to have a handsome hunk handy to fill up my glass while I chop away at the onions and herbs like a pro, and toss the el dente pasta with some freshly made pesto…but let’s not have the mind wandering here… I am sure you get the point…(and I watch too many cooking shows)

I cannot resist buying wine… One day when I grow up I want to have a house with a wine cellar, but while I dream of that, I end up stacking unopened boxes with wine around the house. For a rainy day? I am not sure, but at least I will never run out of wine! I have about three or four people phoning me on a regular basis to ask me if I want to buy wine. A typical conversation goes like this…

“Hi my friend, it’s Daisy here.” My mind starts planning an escape route….”I haven’t spoken to you in a while” (didn’t she phone me last month or was that the girl from Cape Town who always makes small talk about the weather…). Unaware of my tumultuous thoughts, Daisy continues “So the reason for my call is that we have a special on red/white (delete as appropriate) wine for this month only from (insert wine estate) and we are offering it to our special clients at a discounted price”. Note to self, I need to check the prices at Makro. Last month (or the month before) I very effectively bypassed her with a comment about soooo much wine still at home, and then she offered me a voucher for free accommodation to Mauritius with it (only for special clients, you know..). What the heck….

Or the other time, after I explained that I still have so many red wines left over, the Cape Town lady (Saskia…it’s all coming back to me now), interrupted me gently and explained that “it is that Cap de Classique that you like so much”. Now, who can say no to 6 bottles of bubbly?? Not me…

So, I am very proud of myself that I went to a wine festival this weekend and only bought two bottles of wine….(Okay, I did give my details to someone who is going to phone me about a well priced Cap de Classique…but that’s not the point). Tasted some lovely wines (and cheeses, bubbly and was that Grappa??), and chatted to all the estates. How else would I have met The Weather Girl 2009…a lovely Sauvignon Blanc, Semillion blend that’s has a 5 Star John Platter rating. You can take her anywhere and she will keep you company in any strange hotel room, like the weather girl on the TV. Sounds like the type of wine you can have by yourself on a Friday night?? (Is that Bridget Jones and “All by myself” that I am hearing?).

In the meanwhile, maybe I should spend some time labelling the wines that I have, making an inventory listing (ageing analysis?)…apparently there are some nice apps on the iPad. Stuff that, I think I need to have a big party and share some wine…then I don’t have to find excuses not to buy wine…

Which reminds me that I am running low on white wine and it is summer after all????

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 3, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Here, have a glass of wine…

  1. cinderella

    September 5, 2012 at 10:12 am

    You’ve missed your vocation!

     
    • jcmgertie

      September 5, 2012 at 10:25 am

      Yeah, I know! I should have become a wine and food expert…;-)

       
  2. jcmgertie

    September 6, 2012 at 1:21 pm

    Oooh…that’s hilarious….just had a phone call from Saskia🙂

     

Leave a comment...

 
