RSS

A letter to Santa

12 Nov

Dear Santa

It has been a while since I have written to you. I think the last time was probably when I wrote to you on behalf of my youngest daughter, who is almost 11 years old, and since she has been reading and writing for some time, it must be a long time ago. No offense, but I have not really felt the urge to write a letter on behalf of myself for a while.

This is a bit awkward though as I am not sure what the protocol is for raising an objection against a Christmas wish. I am sure there must be some way that a parent can give their input or raise their dissatisfaction with a Christmas wish submitted by one of their kids.

But maybe I should explain the background to my letter first.

A week or so ago, after a family wedding, I had to drop off the kids’ cousin in Tshwane (formerly known as Pretoria) on the Sunday. They have a few Siberian Huskies. But if that is not enough, they have Husky puppies, of about 2 months old. Very cute. Very fluffy and adorable, I have to admit. They still have that little puppy smell to them, you know?

And my daughter fell in love, head over heals, I promise. She immediately took one and sat with it in her lap, cuddling it. And told me that she now knows what she wants for Christmas. Did I mention that they have these beautiful blue eyes?

Now, for a couple of reasons, the evidence of which are listed below, I believe that she has already submitted a Christmas wish for a Siberian Husky puppy, and this is the reason for me writing to you. I would like to object…

Exhibit A

She has actually changed her profile picture on her BlackBerry Messenger several times this last week. This is one of the examples…

Anya’s BBM profile

Exhibit B

But never one to leave things to chance, she has created a collage of pictures of Siberian Huskies for her bedroom door…

Anya’s bedroom door

Objection

Firstly, we have a fairly small yard, and I have had experience with a large dog in a small yard. IT DOES NOT WORK. I cannot imagine that I will be impressed with the dog catching a large rat, as a colleague explained to me in detail their Husky did.

Or another friend told me how someone pawned a Husky off on them, after it ruined his garden and this dog set out killing a neighbour’s geese. I have been told horror stories about them ripping up entire couches, digging up gardens and eating the flowers (mine are just starting to make a reappearance after a hailstorm a few weeks ago).

Secondly, I am a terrible light sleeper, borderline insomniac. I wake up when the cats enter my room, walking on the laminated wooden floors. I wake up in the mornings at 5:15am when the sprinklers outside starts going off! In fact, I think I often wake myself up when I dream too loud! And these dogs, being descendants from a wolf, howl rather than bark.

Thirdly, I think this will put the poor sausage dogs and cats at a significant disadvantage for attention, don’t you think? How will they be able to compete against this gorgeous dog, with blue eyes, nogal? Somehow, this hardly seems fair.

Alternatives

In the absence of knowing whether she put down any alternative suggestions for Christmas presents, I have to admit that this does place you in a bit of a predicament as to what to get this poor girl, who has been (mostly) good this year? I am actually thanking my lucky stars that I am not in your shoes/boots. Good luck, and maybe just a hint…she really likes her music quite a bit and is always annexing my iPad, so I suggest you keep an eye open for bulk discounts in your electronics department. Someone at work suggested getting her a gold fish named Husky, but unless you can find one with blue eyes, I don’t think that will do the trick!

Finally, I have to apologise again for disrupting the well oiled machine that must be your Christmas wish evaluation department.

Kind regards

Gerda (probably better known as Anya’s mom)

PS. While I am busy corresponding with you, maybe I can ask you, if you come across a handsome, well read, intelligent, honest, well dressed, gentle, loving guy, with a sense of humour, who doesn’t take himself too seriously, who loves kids with their own opinions, a house full of animals, crazy girls….oh, nevermind!

(If you are not Santa and you are reading this post because you follow my blog via email, I discovered a nifty little trick.  If you hit reply to the email, you can comment on this post, without logging in to WordPress.  Try it :-))

 
9 Comments

Posted by on November 12, 2012 in Kids

 

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “A letter to Santa

  1. Kathryn McCullough

    November 12, 2012 at 6:51 pm

    OMG, Gertie, I LOVE this! Another puppy story for today. I think this one should be freshly pressed. Truly, what a great idea for a post–and how DAMN funny! May you NOT be blessed with a puppy this Christmas! Electronics are the way to go–hear that, Santa?
    Hugs,
    Kathy

     
    • Justcallmegertie

      November 12, 2012 at 6:56 pm

      Oh, thanks Kathy! Now you made my day. I love this one!

       
  2. Erica Dudine

    November 13, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    …..May Santa bring you a handsome, well read, intelligent, honest, well dressed…oh well, you know, everything that you deserve and MORE….!!!!! I loved your piece!! Keep on writing and smiling! Hugs E.

     
    • Justcallmegertie

      November 13, 2012 at 10:47 pm

      Thanks, Erica! I have no intention to stop writing now that I am enjoying it sooooo much! Xx

       
  3. aliceatwonderland

    November 16, 2012 at 6:36 pm

    Oh, holy crap, this is my youngest all over. She won’t STOP with the puppy crap. And we got her a hermit crab and it got out of its shell and its cage and I don’t know where it is and I am gonna hafta get her the damn dog.

     
    • Justcallmegertie

      November 16, 2012 at 7:19 pm

      The dog can help sniff out the crab, don’t ya think? Unless your daughter is missing the crab, in which case it will be a disaster. We have a mini zoo already with the cats and dogs and fish, so I am definitely guarding the chimney to make sure no puppies are snuck in on Christmas Eve!!

       
  4. lisa@notesfromafrica

    November 19, 2012 at 3:58 pm

    Nice post! Your daughter is really persistent!🙂

    I can remember bugging my parents for a dog and later cat too. Huskies are beautiful dogs, but they need a big yard – and a lot of attention.

     
    • Justcallmegertie

      November 19, 2012 at 4:04 pm

      I know. They really are beautiful, and if we didn’t have any other animals, I may have been more easily persuaded! But alas, it is already a mission to take the dachshunds on regular walks!

       

Leave a comment...

 
