RSS

Check in…

29 Oct

Hello world??

Gosh, I have been bad, haven’t I? I am not gonna even attempt to make excuses for my nonexistent irregular postings of late. Let’s just leave it at ‘life has been a bit hectic’.

Instead, I am going to tell you five random things I learned this last month…

  • I am addicted to crime books… Let’s not even try and hide or deny it. I kept the midnight candles burning in December reading the Lewis Man trilogy. And once I started the Dexter series properly, waking up at 2am in the morning, it was much easier to fain insomnia and read a bit, than going back to sleep.
  • I am being asked more and more to ‘keep secrets”. And I am pretty good and keeping people’s confidences. One of the most embarrassing moments this month was when a friend asked me to keep her pregnancy quiet. And I did. I did not tell a soul. Until we went for dinner at their house and her husband asked me if she told me their news, and I excitedly said yes. Only to find out she told him off a week before for telling one of his friends…
  • In The Odd Life of Timothy Green, his parents make up a list of qualities that they wish for a child and bury it in the garden, from which the little boy is miraculously born. I learned that if I had to make a list of qualities for a child and somehow managed to create a child matching that list, I would probably not be able to re-create the awesome girls I have. They are caring, respectful, independent, responsible, witty…
  • I do not have the work/home balance that I wish for myself, at this stage of my life. I often work too long hours, and when I get home, I am grumpy and irritable, which in unfair on my girls. And I realised that I can do it for much longer, but actually, I don’t want to.

Running-Ecard-1

  • It is incredibly easy for ‘fall out of’ an exercise program! Before I did the Inca Trail in April, I was pretty proud of myself about the amount of exercise I was doing. But winter and work has had its toll on my exercise routine. But, I am doing another 5 day hike again in April next year, so I am desperately wanting to get back to a regular exercise program.

On a positive note, I starting a five week camera course last week and cannot wait to put some of the theory into practice…And I am terribly excited about being able to share this experience with my 15 year old daughter, because I booked in the month when they were running a ‘two for one’ Spring Special’. So, we are learning about ISO settings, apertures, F-stops and white balance and enjoying it very much. Hopefully at some stage I can show you what we are capable or not capable of!

Hope to be writing you soon!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 29, 2013 in About me

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Check in…

  1. Kathryn McCullough

    October 29, 2013 at 10:48 pm

    I, too, love crime fiction. I’m just finishing the second novel in the ‘Girl with the Dragon Tattoo” series. I guess the second is actually called “The Girl who Played with Fire.” Both are incredible. Oh, and I’m bad with exercise, as well. Gotta get myself in gear. Finally, the photography class sounds incredible. I’d love to take one. Hope the rest of your week goes well, and you manage to work less.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

     
    • Justcallmegertie

      October 30, 2013 at 5:55 am

      Hi Kathy
      I loved the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series! Could not put the books down. Tempted to start the Peter May China thriller series,but maybe over December…:-)
      I will definitely write some mmore about the camera course. It is fantastic so far!

      Btw, love your Ecuador posts! Sorry ionly get to read them when they’re old news already!

      Hugs back!

       
  2. Eha

    October 30, 2013 at 5:50 am

    [With a big smile on my face] Am SO glad you are living what sounds like a ‘normal’ life ~ enjoy and tell us just when you feel like it! I love forensic crime and biographies and don’t get to my piles of unread books around nearly as often as I would like it!! Hmm, and I did go on a ‘sabbatical’ some 3 or so weeks ago, which was to include LOTS of exercise and losing weight I have put on sitting at the computer ~ what with our frightening bushfires and other problems, no I am really not there either 🙂 ! So one tries tomorrow: normal!! And I am still working far too hard also . . . but looking forwards to your next post . . .

     
    • Justcallmegertie

      October 30, 2013 at 5:59 am

      Hi Eha
      Yup, I really need to do something to get some balance…at least it is going towards the end of the year and I am taking some leave over December…which reminds me to put in a leave form??
      Have a great day!

       
  3. Madoqua

    November 17, 2013 at 9:02 pm

    I can so relate to this post. My blog has been quiet for a while as things have been absolutely frantic for months. But I figure life gets priority over blogging from time to time!

     
    • Justcallmegertie

      November 17, 2013 at 9:06 pm

      Absolutely! I guess it is more a matter of not completely leaving it…I always worry I won’t get back into something (not too dissimilar to exercising!).

       
      • Madoqua

        November 17, 2013 at 9:08 pm

        😆
        But blogging is MUCH more fun than exercising!!!!! 🙂

         
      • Justcallmegertie

        November 17, 2013 at 9:11 pm

        Too true!!

         

Leave a comment...

 
