RSS

Lights, camera, action…

05 Nov

Too much excitement all around…!

I mentioned in my last post that Bianca and I started a camera course in October. It is a five week course with the College of Digital Photography, with an outing on a Sunday morning to practise our newly acquired skills.

We are not only learning about ISO settings, shutter speeds and aperture (which I (sort of) knew how to operate previously, although I didn’t know when to use what), but we are also learning about White Balance, how to blur pictures, how to create depth of field and how to avoid over or under exposure in extreme light and dark conditions. And that is only up to lesson 3!

The great thing about this course is that you also get the opportunity to try out newly learned techniques in weekly assignments. The first assignment was only to test whether we could balance the light meter, but from week 2, we started taking pictures and submitting them.

Assignment 2 was about taking pictures at low shutter speeds (on a tripod), using artificial light. The shutter speeds started at 1 second and increased to 30 seconds.  The same set of pictures were taken using the Auto White Balance setting (AWB) and the Daylight setting. Three different sets of pictures had to be submitted, using different compositions.

So, below is one of the compositions submitted by myself and one of Bianca’s, which I think came out pretty awesome!

My submission

My submission

Bianca 2

Bianca’s submission

This week we have to take pictures, playing around with Depth of Field and creating blurring movement with low shutter speeds. It is very exciting and I am waking up in the middle of the night, thinking about possible settings. (I did finally finish the Dexter series as well, so my mind has to be occupied with something at 1am??)

Of course, work pressures have not eased up much, but there is nothing like a bit of pressure to bring out the productivity in me…and hopefully the creativity. I have been struggling a bit in the ability to conjour up my creative self in the last couple of months.

And, the cherry on the top is that I get to share this experience with my daughter. And that is something money cannot buy!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on November 5, 2013 in Kids, Passions

 

Tags: , ,

10 responses to “Lights, camera, action…

  1. Rhonda Janse van Vuuren

    November 5, 2013 at 7:58 pm

    Stunning

     
  2. Eha

    November 6, 2013 at 5:25 am

    Oh Gerda ~ I seem to be in all sorts of ‘courses’ but at the moment it is strictly ‘point and click’ for me in photography!! But looking at your settings methinks I know just what I would choose along the pathway! Oh joicks! Another discipline to get going with no time available to be allotted . . . too many people ticking me off for not having my ‘own’ blog! Well, at least the Celi one seemed to have gone according to hopes and prayers . . . thanks for the lesson!!

     
    • Justcallmegertie

      November 6, 2013 at 5:54 am

      Hi Eha!
      I am very far from being confident with all the strange buttons on the camera, but it is fantastic to be able to start understanding why the picture doesn’t come out the way you thought it would…Baby steps…
      Good luck with trying to fit in time, I know exactly the feeling!

       
  3. Kathryn McCullough

    November 6, 2013 at 5:15 pm

    LOVE the photos, Gertie. Looks like you both are learning a lot—so much more than I even begin to understand! Well done–and it’s all a mother-daughter project. Perfect!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

     
    • Justcallmegertie

      November 6, 2013 at 5:31 pm

      Hi Kathy!
      Very exciting to be able to share this with her…hopefully we can take some fabulous pictures together.
      Then we will have to come visit you!
      G x

       
  4. Madoqua

    November 17, 2013 at 11:54 am

    I have lots of intentions to fine tune my photography skills, but I have not got started yet!
    You are making great inroads – fantastic!

     
    • Justcallmegertie

      November 17, 2013 at 3:17 pm

      It really has been a very exciting learning experience! I am sad that the course is finishing tomorrow evening. We spent this morning on an outing, taking some lovely pics. Will try and share some later this week!
      Btw, I think you take gorgeous pics!

       
      • Madoqua

        November 17, 2013 at 9:06 pm

        Thanks for the compliment about my photos Gertie! I enjoy taking photos, but would like to be more creative with the things cameras can do. I look forward to seeing what you have learned. It will be good to be able to compare photos with your daughter too.

         
      • Justcallmegertie

        November 17, 2013 at 9:09 pm

        It has been a fantastic experience to share. And she’s really good! A little healthy competition may keep us both practicing…

         

Leave a comment...

 
