RSS

Cheers to the New Year!

05 Jan

A belated Happy New Year to all of you!

I have had an exciting (albeit stressful) start to the new year, with my car being broken into on New Year’s eve, but there is nothing like driving a rental for a few days to make me appreciate my car again when I get it back tomorrow afternoon…

The view from the bottom of Plattekloof Gorge

The view from the bottom of Plattekloof Gorge

It has been a very hot summer holiday in South Africa, and we spent most of it in the beautiful Cape Town and surrounds, doing all the obligatory things at Christmas, like spending too much money and eating too much. And one cannot stay away from the wines in Cape Town, can you?

I am not one for new years resolutions, but I did have a read of my first post of 2013 and am happy to say that I didn’t do too shabby this year! I did buy my camera, did a camera course with my daughter, did a fabulous trip to Peru and then stopped to smell the flowers in August in Namaqualand.

But, I also had a hectic busy year, and I have to admit that I did not spend as much time with family and friends as I would have liked to.

This year, I am planning another multi-day hike and hope to do at least one overseas trip (with my girls this time). And I am truly hoping that I can achieve a better balance between work and my personal life, spend more time with my gorgeous girls and entertain more!

I leave you with a couple of pictures taken on my one and only strenuous activity of December (apart from dancing the night away a couple of times).  My cousin and I did a hike little stroll up Table Mountain. My fitness levels at the moment are much to desire, but man alive, the views were double and triple worth the effort!

Views of Cape Town from Plattekloof hike

Views of Cape Town from Plattekloof hike

A little higher up

A little higher up

Beautiful Cape Town

Beautiful Cape Town

A lookout from the top

A lookout from the top

View of Cape Town from Table Mountain

View of Cape Town from Table Mountain

And the short cut down...via cable car!

And the short cut down…via cable car!

Lotsa love!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 5, 2014 in About me, Travel

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Cheers to the New Year!

  1. Kathryn McCullough

    January 5, 2014 at 11:17 pm

    Oh, Gertie, the weather here was beautiful for the holidays, but if I could have been in Cape Town, I guarantee, I would have been. How stunning. We rode a cool cable car high above Quito, which was pretty awesome. Photos to come in future posts.

    And, believe it or not, I will actually have a new post up tomorrow. I swear!

    Happy New Year!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

     
    • Justcallmegertie

      January 6, 2014 at 5:39 am

      Hi Kathy! Cape Town weather can be quite wondy this time of year as well, but despite that, we had a lovely couple of weeks! The views from the cable car is spectacular. A beautiful city.

      Looking forward to more posts! The happiest of New Years to you!

       
  2. Eha

    January 6, 2014 at 1:47 am

    A very happy New Year Gerda ~ may your hopes and plans come to fruition and all the bumps of life be little ones. Wonderful photos of Capetown ~ actually some of the most interesting ones I have seen, taken from aspects different from most tourist photos. Not too much wrong with your fitness level if you made it up that high🙂 ! About the downs: ‘bummer’ about the car, but better than all the news I am getting from European blogfriends who all seem to have caught the same bug at the same time just at the beginning of 2014!!

     
    • Justcallmegertie

      January 6, 2014 at 5:44 am

      Thanks Eha! I loved the different views from the walk up. And tried to take pics with a bit of a different angle. The walk from the far end of the flat section of table mountain to the cable car is almost 20mins and you always only see the ones taken at the cable car station. Glad you like it!

      A happy New Year, full of joys and love and laughter to you too!

       
  3. Erica

    January 6, 2014 at 9:39 am

    ….and I very happy 2014 to you, Gerda!…. As always, I ‘super love’ reading yor posts…. Please, never stop!!!!!

     
    • Justcallmegertie

      January 6, 2014 at 11:09 am

      Thank you, Erica! Wishing you a fabulous 2014 too! I don’t have any plans to stop posting yet…:-)

       
  4. Madoqua

    January 8, 2014 at 5:50 am

    Gerda, your photos brought back so many happy memories for me! I love Cape Town, the flora at Cape Point is something I would come around the world to enjoy again, and Table Mountain is simply a magical place from every angle. Happy New Year to you – may it bring lots of fun and many good times!

     
    • Justcallmegertie

      January 8, 2014 at 6:07 am

      Thank you! I also think Cape Town is magical. Didn’t get around Cape Point this time around, but very happy I finally managed to do the hike up table mountain.
      A happy New Year to you too!

       

Leave a comment...

 
