RSS

2014…Friendship year!

06 Feb

This year I purposefully avoided making any New Year’s resolutions.

I have lots of plans, yes. And of course I have goals, like eating healthier, getting fit, losing weight, but really those are not NEW year’s resolutions, they are OLD year’s resolutions and constant goals. I have resolved to the fact that these will have to be something that I will have to strive for on an ongoing basis, sometimes with more success than other.

I would really like to do at least one overseas trip this year, preferably with my girls, but starting a new job soon, annual leave will be a scarce commodity, so I will have to see how things pan out.

I have made a decision though…

With my special friends Alicia and Annie

With my special friends Alicia and Annie

I am a really lucky girl. I have some fabulous friends. Old friends, new friends, friends that I can call at 12 at night and friends that I can always call on to join me for the theatre of live music concert. I have friends that will go hiking with me and friends that I can share a bottle of champagne with. I have friends that will quite willingly sit and listen to me complain about my life, my job and all the things that gets me down and there are friends that I can drag onto the dance floor with me at a party. I have friends that will try out a new restaurant with me and friends that will be willing to try out my kitchen experiments.

My 40th birthday party was a strange affair. I realised that every one of my friends have some connection with me, but put them all in a room together, and they’re an odd bunch. The only real connection that they all have is me.

With friends at my 40th

With friends at my 40th

And sometimes I find it difficult to get to all these friends. They are all so special to me, but it takes some effort to keep in touch with everyone. I am not a BIG group person. I prefer smaller groups of friends and treasure one on ones. There is nothing like sharing a glass on wine with a friend late into the night and having deep conversations. (Thinking about which, there is something I think I have done with most of my friends.)

And that is what I have decided this year. I am going to make sure that I do that more. That I arrange those special evenings and make sure I spend time with my friends. So, come hell or high water, this is going to be my friendship year. Rekindling old friendships, forging new friendship and sharing special moments and memories.

With Milady Retha

With Milady Retha

I believe that true friends are the essential to your overall happiness. My friends allow me to be myself, they will share many laughs with me and won’t complain if I cry on their shoulder.

So far, I ain’t doing too shabby. I have been to breakfast with an old friend (like a second mom), coffee with a friend who lives overseas, a birthday party and baby shower, dinner with a friend, Bruce Springsteen live concert with another, drinks with a friend and I have loads more lined up!

This year my only resolution is to stop saying let’s get together and then run off in a huff and forget about it, but to stop and set a time, a date, make a plan.

To many wonderful memories with friends!

Presentation1

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 6, 2014 in About me, Passions

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “2014…Friendship year!

  1. Anne-Marie Liebenberg

    February 7, 2014 at 4:18 pm

    Jy is nie net my vriendin nie, JY IS MY OUSUS. en nie die klem op ou nie maar die klem op SUS. Baie lief vir jou. alo so baie deur gemaak- van being my DF in a Deloitte environment, to being callled to come and look for my sausage dogs and driving up and down Midrand for hours, being my Sunday night stop for the Mnet movie and coffee and Amarula, helping me find a suitcase on the day I had to leave for Switzerland for a secondment which I did not know for how long….. to being my date at my cousins wedding where I suprised all of the family with a quick visit from Switzerland, the friend that came to visit me twice in my four years and who I amanged to see in Brussels as well, drive on the wrong side of the rode with a bicycle, and eat mussles in white wine, being the second person I called (first being my baby sister) when I found out I was pregnant with Cassie and did not know what the hell to do… in the situation, being there at my first baby shower, at my pre-wedding party, my wedding, hosting my second baby (ies) shower, keen to go to Loftus with us and support the Blue bulls with Braam, always ready for a braai, several champagne moments, several laughs, several tears and just sharing lots of special things in my LIFE with me.
    I LOVE YOU AND this year we will drink many more bottlels of champagne together.

     
    • Justcallmegertie

      February 7, 2014 at 8:00 pm

      Annie, that’s because you are a very special friend too! We have shared some awesome times, and I know that I can call you at 2am in the morning if I am in trouble, any day! Or when Bianca forget her lunchbox at home… 🙂 And I will never forget how you opened your heart and house for me when I had my first Christmas on my own (in Switzerland, yes!). I have lost a sister a few years ago, but it gained another one….so I am truly blessed. Love you lots

       
  2. Zaheerah

    February 8, 2014 at 3:41 pm

    Blessed to have you as a friend.

     
  3. Kathryn McCullough

    February 10, 2014 at 12:46 am

    How wonderful to have so many dear friends, especially ones you can call in the middle of the night. And belated Happy Birthday!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

     
    • Justcallmegertie

      February 10, 2014 at 5:13 am

      Aah, Kathy. It is very special. My 40th birthday party was almost 3 years ago,but still special memories…:-).

      Have a great week!

       

Leave a comment...

 
